Camshaft options, opinins needed. - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old Apr 2nd, 08, 12:32 PM Thread Starter

Camshaft options, opinins needed.

I have a 1969 350 with a .030 overbore and I going to rebuild it soon. When I got the car, the cam was a Comp Cams Magnum 292H. 292/292 501/501

After a few months, I started losing power and I couldn't get the timing right so I pulled the motor and started disassembling it and found 2 lobes rounded off of the cam.

I've been reading some bad things about Comp Cams and the lobe issues so I want to ask you guys what cam manufacturer I should go for instead of Comp. I'd like something with the same qualities/specs or close to them. I loved the lopey idle and it made great power but I don't trust Comp anymore.

I've been looking at Crane, Lunati and Trickflow but I don't know what I should go for. I'm pretty new to engine building so any help is appreciated.

Here are the original cam specs. http://store.summitracing.com/partde...3&autoview=sku

Thanks guys, Jeff.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old Apr 2nd, 08, 01:11 PM
Senior Tech
jim

Re: Camshaft options, opinins needed.

Cam selection is completely dependent on the rest of your setup. Including converter stall, rear gear and driving preference. There are many threads already here to choose from so do some reading and if you still have questions we’ll tackle it then.

67 RS Deluxe Int. A/C car
TKO-600
400 4 bolt block .03 over
Ported 215 Pro1 Platinums
Forged/balanced 400 crank, pistons, 6" rods
286HR cam w/1.6 rckrs LS1 beehives
Forgelines, 18"f 19"r, 4 link w/ minitub
IROC s/gear, 4 wheel discs
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old Apr 2nd, 08, 01:30 PM
Banned
Ron

Stay away from the regrinds!....That's most likely what caused your 2 rounded lobes....You can't go wrong with a nice new Lunati cam!

post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old Apr 2nd, 08, 01:33 PM
Gold Lifetime Member