1968 Pontiac GTO carb question - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old Apr 7th, 08, 12:28 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Michael

Talking 1968 Pontiac GTO carb question

I am working in a shop that normally handles European sports cars, but we have gotten in a 1968 GTO Convertible to do some work on.

The car is completely restored and absolutley beautiful, but it runs terribly.

The carb on the car is a late model quadrajet, which I have no experience with.

I talked to a guy who rebuilds these things and he said that the carb on the car, being intended for a smog vehicle, will never run right.

So, now here's the problem. What would be the best way to solve this problem. He's running the original intake, so it would take an adapter plate to get a square bore carb on there.

I have found a rebuilt period correct quadrajet carb for about 800 bucks.

The owner is not set on having the original carb on there, he just wants it to run right.

So, would you put the adapter plate on and bolt on another carb, or buy a rebuilt quadrajet that was original to these cars and put that on.

Mike

Currently Camaroless
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old Apr 7th, 08, 12:43 PM
DjD
Retired
Dennis

Garage
Re: 1968 Pontiac GTO carb question

I don't buy the carb rebuilders opinion on the carb. It may not get the performance level of other carbs but it surely can be tuned to run properly unless it's just worn out. If there is room for a spacer and square bore carb the Holley Avenger series are very streetable and will provide performance too. If you want to keep more in line with the orig carb look at Edelbrock carbs. I don't know whar the Edelbrocks cost but an Avenger should be in the $325 - $350 range new.

...Dennis