Possible Engine Rebuild! Thoughts PLEASE. - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 31 (permalink) Old Aug 6th, 08, 07:39 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech

Exclamation Possible Engine Rebuild! Thoughts PLEASE.

Here's the situation...forgive me for the long story, but it might be necessary.

I've got a 69 camaro that I have been working on for a few years now and just finished it a few weeks ago. I purchased tags for it and was able to drive it for pretty much the first time ever. After about a 30 min. drive, white smoke started boiling out of the driver side tail pipe. After a few posts here on TC and after taking the engine apart I realized it was a blown head gasket which was blown in two different places.

note: the motor was "complete" and ran when I purchased the car.

Working on a motor is a complete learning curve for me. I removed the heads and intake manifold and took them to a machinist, who i was referred to. The heads did not have a crack but he said they were trash. They were peanut heads from a 454 Big Block '72 truck. The intake is a GM 3933163 dual plane manifold (which he said was very good). The machinist for some reason thought that I had a 427 but I informed him that I had a 454 big block. He told me to get the piston numbers to him.

So, I went home and gave him the numbers 7011P - 060. He told me that they were 427 pistons bored 60 over. Then I gave him the block number 3999289 & D-11-72, which then he told me was a 454 block from 1972. He also told me that the compression ratio is 10.9 - 1 and 2323 PRW (not sure what that means).

At this point I was confused but he talked me through it. The machinist then added that I probably have a steel crank shaft. He also was suggesting that I rebuild the motor since I have no idea what I have on the bottom...