Engine timing - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 49 (permalink) Old Aug 14th, 08, 06:17 PM Thread Starter
Ernie

Question Engine timing

i have a 67 camaro with a 383 stroker motor that was built for me! i am a shade tree mechanic with a lot of drive. my question is how do i find the correct ignition timing for my engine! it seems like it pings a lot on premium fuel, and there is a hesitation when i first step on the gas. some say it maybe my ignition timing!! i also just replaced my edelbrock carb with a holley carb that i had built at the carb shop in ontario. any thoughts.

Last edited by eatrican; Aug 14th, 08 at 07:37 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 49 (permalink) Old Aug 14th, 08, 06:32 PM
Senior Tech
Brandon

Garage
Re: Engine timing

Well to begin with, what compression are you running? What are the specs of your cam? What is the idle RPM your running at? What thermostat rating is in the car?

These factors will help to decipher your timing.

Likely though she'll want to be set in the 14-18 BTDC range. More than likely closer to the 16* area. Then it's all a matter of tweaking the carb and getting the best vacuum you can at a decent idle. A lot of miss and some hit to get it dialed in right.

Brandon J. licence 1NASTY67

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 49 (permalink) Old Aug 14th, 08, 07:29 PM Thread Starter
Ernie

thank you for quick info!! i am running 10.6:1 compression, idle rpm i have it set at is 750 rpm, thermostat is i think 210, and cam is comp hyd roller cam 288 dur, intake 230, exh 236. i also am not running a line for my vacuum advance, is this common? the mechanic said i didnt have to because of the way the engine was built!

post #4 of 49 (permalink) Old Aug 14th, 08, 07:49 PM
Gold Lifetime Member
Harley

Send a message via Yahoo to wiskeesour