Need Advice: is Original 327 the way to go? - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old Jul 6th, 09, 02:06 PM Thread Starter
Tech Team
David

Need Advice: is Original 327 the way to go?

Greetings,

I am just getting started on replacing some sheet metal on my 68 and I have a ton of other work ahead of me, but i am trying to get a handle on what direction I want to go with respect to the engine.

Right now I have a rebuilt 350, but after looking at it, my stepdad said that the guy did a poor job, used junk parts, and that it wouldnt last more than a year or so before I needed major work.

Also I was given the numbers matching original 327 that came with the car (V0928ME) which i believe what the 210HP with the TH350 which it still has along with the original 10 bolt.

So on to my question:

My goal first and formost is to have a reliable engine that I can feel comfortable driving down to Oregon or Cali for the weekend with, but at the same time I would like to be able to get on it once in a while as well. I dont intend to take it to the strip by any means, but at the same time if i see some kid in an import reving his lawn mower, I want to be able to remind him what a Muscle car is ..

Can I accompish this with a rebuild of my 327 without selling my first born and sacrificing reliability or will I need to look at a Big Block?

Thanks again for your input,

David
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old Jul 6th, 09, 02:41 PM
Senior Tech
Brandon

Re: Need Advice: is Original 327 the way to go?

If thats the original engine that came with the car I would set it aside without modifying it. From there I would try to sell the 350 you have and buy one from a reputable builder or just have it gone through and built with good parts by someone reputable. A nice 350/350HP engine would be perfect for what you want and should not cost an arm and a leg.