375HP/396 Intake on a 325HP/396 Heads - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old Jul 25th, 09, 10:36 PM Thread Starter
Team Member
Terry

375HP/396 Intake on a 325HP/396 Heads

I'm new to the Chevy Camaro world, but not the forum world. Before getting flamed, I did a search a couple of weeks ago to learn which intake manifold I could put on a 396 and still use the louvered hood on my '69 Camaro. In reading all those threads, I read where the square port 375HP aluminum intake could be used on 396 with oval port heads. However, I can't find those threads tonight - must be using different keywords or their order.

What intake manifold gaskets need to be used and what are the tricks to using the square port intake on the oval port heads?

For your information, I inherited a 1969 Camaro SS that is equppied with the 325HP 396. My uncle, who bought the car new in May 1969, added the 375HP solid lifter cam around 1971. I want to add the 375HP intake for appearance purposes (and a little more performance) and to use the Holley 780. I want to eventually get the right 375HP heads one day.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old Jul 25th, 09, 11:59 PM
Gold Lifetime Member
David

Re: 375HP/396 Intake on a 325HP/396 Heads

I have never tried this nor would I advise to but you should use the square port gasket to make it seal for the upper and lower areas. I am sure some the racers will chime in with a few tricks.

1967 RS/SS 4K
1967 RS D-2 Z/28
1967 Pacer 4P -
1968 RS/SS L35 Conv.
1969 Z11
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old Jul 27th, 09, 05:37 PM Thread Starter
Team Member
Terry

Found the thread I was looking for (all the way back to 2006), sent green z a PM, he answered, and I talked to him on the phone. Got the all the info I need on this topic. Thanks Kerry!

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old Jul 27th, 09, 05:52 PM
Gold Lifetime Member
Charley

Garage