Need engine advice - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old Jul 29th, 09, 05:34 PM Thread Starter
Tech Team
Don

Need engine advice

I am sure you guys are tired of this question because I did a search and came up with 25+ pages. I read them all. Here is my question..... I have been working for 3 years on my 68 and the time has come to get an engine. I do not plan to race or anything just drive to car shows.
Some say to get a 350 and rebuild it (not sure I can or want that project) others say buy a crate 350 and have a new motor. I have built the car on a budget and want to try to stay between 2000 and 3000. I already have a Muncie M20.
1. Summit, JEGS, Pace and others have the 350 260 HP and the 290 HP for 1539.00 to 1939.00 plus freight. Is there a difference when driving between the 2 motors other than 30 HP?
2. Where should I get the starter, flex plate, clutch, water pump, alternator, intake, carb, dist, coil and other stuff and what should I get.
3. Are any of the engine rebuilders on e-bay legit?

Am I going down the wrong road? Looking for advice.
Thanks for your help
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old Jul 29th, 09, 08:16 PM
Gold Lifetime Member
Skip

Re: Need engine advice

The more HP the better...

I NEED TO HIT THE LOTTERY
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old Jul 29th, 09, 08:48 PM
Senior Tech
george

Forget the hp numbers...simply a mathematical thing.The car does not have a calculator and could care less.Concentrate on the torque values and where they fall for your style of driving.The lower hp application may just puke up more torque in your rpm range..ie,just off idle cruising to the local car show and deliver a few more mpg,s to boot.

George
68 Camaro
8-71 blown 461 Rat on E-85

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old Jul 29th, 09, 09:54 PM