5.7 VS. 6" Rods - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old Oct 14th, 09, 09:13 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Tom

Smile 5.7 VS. 6" Rods

I am assuming that your question is about "Why would you want 6" rods in a 327 ?"

First, I must say I am not an engineer, so I'm not schooled on all the science of it.

Here is a quote I found:

There are many articles on the web, to explain the reasons. Do a google search with the words : 6" rod vs 5.7" rod

This picture shows what compression height is.

Here is a chart from Ross pistons, showing the differences with different rods etc.

Notice that when you go from a 5.7" Rod to a 6" Rod, your Compression height (CH) also changes by that .300" .

So, why a longer rod ? My understanding is that the angle of the rod to the crankshaft is different, so the actual turning of the crankshaft is easier there by making more H.P.

Correct me here guys ! Let's hear your comments...

69 Camaro -originally a LM1 car. 327, Edelbrock E-streets, hooker, DUI performance distributors, ultradyne cam, stewart, TRW etc. Vintage Air, AGR steering, Corbeau GTSII seats, 700R4 transmission, 12-bolt w/Eaton 4.11:1

Last edited by TJS69; Oct 14th, 09 at 09:54 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old Oct 14th, 09, 09:38 PM
Gold Lifetime Member
Jim

Re: 5.7 VS. 6" Rods

I "think" the biggest difference if the amount of time (in degrees of crankshaft rotation) that the piston "hangs around" top dead center. This lets the fire get moving without lighting it so soon, you can run less advance.

There are also differences in "leverage" on the crank, and piston speed.

here is a recommended ratio of rod length to stroke, though I can't remember what exactly it is, 1.7:1 or so??

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.