Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old Oct 23rd, 09, 04:18 PM Thread Starter
Gold Lifetime Member
Keith

Garage
Send a message via Yahoo to keithl1967
Spring Bind!!

My current setup (whihc I have been running for a couple of years has spring bind (an I just thought the valvetrain wa snoisey because it was a solid-lifter motor)!!

Anyway, I had gotten the motor used out of a drag car I bought for a song, so the only real tragedy is that I now need a new motor!!

So I have a block setup for a 383, and another set up for a 350 (.030over)

I am actually thinking about rebuildign the 350.

Here are the parts that I have:
350 block (.030 over) 4 bolt main
TRW forged Flat top (4 valve relief) pistons (came out of the 350 a few years ago and are sitting on a shelf)
350 Crank (stock, I think)
Stock connecting rods
DART Iron Eagle heads (200cc intake runners);

I am probably going to go with a hydraulic roller cam;

What does anyone suggest to compelete my setup to make around 400-450horsepower?

Keith
1967 Camaro
406, 10:1, comp xr282HR, Dart Iron Eagle 200cc, Holley Contender dual plane, Holley 750 DP
Muncie M-20
GM 8.5, 3.73 posi
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old Oct 23rd, 09, 04:23 PM Thread Starter
Gold Lifetime Member
Keith

Garage
Re: Spring Bind!!

I've been told by a local machine shop/builder that they can do all of the machine work, rebuild the heads (with my parts), install my cam (that I provide), degree it, etc--Essentially do all the required machine work, balance the rotating assembly, and assemble the long block for $1200-$1600 (including setting the block up for the roller cam (it used to have a flat tappet)...

Is this a good deal?

Keith
1967 Camaro
406, 10:1, comp xr282HR, Dart Iron Eagle 200cc, Holley Contender dual plane, Holley 750 DP
Muncie M-20
GM 8.5, 3.73 posi
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old Oct 23rd, 09, 04:42 PM Thread Starter
Gold Lifetime Member
Keith