How much warp is too much in a flexplate? - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old Jan 21st, 10, 06:34 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Gary

How much warp is too much in a flexplate?

I have been working through a shake in my engine for about 2 months, replaced just about everything ON the engine, that left me with only the flexplate and Torque converter. I took off the converter this evening to find the flexplate bent (warped/ wobbles) about 1/16-1/8".... the shake ALMOST completely dissapeared with the converter removed. I am thinking that the warp in the flex was magnified by the weight of the torque converter, plan to buy a new flexplate, does that sound like the right move to you guys?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old Jan 21st, 10, 06:40 PM
Senior Tech
Al

Re: how much warp is too much in a flexplate?

Since you already have it apart that far and flexplates aren't terribly expensive, I say go for it. Could also be an out of balance converter. Describe "ALMOST"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old Jan 21st, 10, 06:43 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Gary

if the shake was on a scale of 1 to 10, 10 being most evident, it dropped from a 10 to a 1,, almost unnoticeable,, to the point at which I think I may just be imagining it due to the fact I saw the warped flex and can't get my mind off the issue, it has been driving me nuts and I want to solve the problem...

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old Jan 21st, 10, 06:49 PM
Gold Lifetime Member

Below is advice given by BowTie OD for inspecting...

Check it visually while the engine is running, if you can see visible for and aft movement, you
should check run out with a dial indicator. Factory tolerance is .030 total run out.