Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old Feb 5th, 10, 01:49 PM Thread Starter
Gold Lifetime Member
Vince

Garage
Original '67 350 rebuild...

Problem:

I took my engine to a very repuatable rebuilder to get the seals/gaskets changed and for hardened valve seats. He has advised me that the cam has wear and that due to tolerances we should probably rebuild the engine. I am planning to take his advise and rebuild but I'm not sure how many upgrades I should introduce. It will be backed by the original Muncie M20 and original 12 bolt.

Plan:

I plan on using the original intake, double hump heads (1.94/1.5), quadrajet carb, and exhaust manifolds. I am open am open to upgrades that will keep the original outside appearance and increase the power. He has recommended a comp 280 cam, bigger valves and a few other ideas. I am planning to step up to a Petronix II distibutor and coil system.
(I am no engine expert so less abriviations and simple engish is best. )

Questions:
  1. What should I upgade and why?
  2. Will these upgrades hurt the value of my original car?

Vince
69 Base Coupe "The Wrecker" Project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

67 rs/SS L48 4spd Convertible -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- SOLD
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old Feb 5th, 10, 02:19 PM
Senior Tech
Brad

Re: Original '67 350 rebuild...

well my hat is off to you for being able to trust someone to work on your motor
(SOMETHING I JUST COULD NOT DO) but as far as doing a good rebuild It's pretty simple
#1 get the block hot tanked and bored / put new cam bearing's
#2 get the head's fixed ie valve job guide's (TO GET THEM IN GOOD SHAPE)
#3 check the crank for any wear damage
#4 check the rod's for wear damage