Crank Case Pressure oil leaks ?? Help - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old Mar 10th, 10, 06:35 PM Thread Starter
Gold Lifetime Member
Gary

Crank Case Pressure oil leaks ?? Help

Once again I come to you all who know way more than me. I have been chasing an oil leaks on my new BB 468 for a couple months. My leaks are not major but once I repair one it springs a small leak somewhere else. Do I have too much crank case pressure? I have a pcv valve (AC Delco for a 70 big block) on the pass side to the carb base and a K&N breather on the drivers side front. My leaks were coming from the valve cover gasket..fixed …a trickle from the rear of the manifold and from the corners of the oil pan..fixed…now I see drips from the rear seal area and the front of the pan. I am chasing my tail here and need some help. The motor runs strong and has about 400 miles on it. Do I need to wait for rings to seat? My oil looks kinds dirty to me already….I did a search for pcv and have read many different opinions on pvc location…etc My motor is nothing fancy with a mild cam. My vacuum is about 11 at idle if that helps at all. Is there any way to measure the crank case pressure? How can I relieve it if is an issue? Any help would be greatly appreciated..

Gary

67 RS Resto-Mod 468 5 spd TKO600 3.73 12 bolt (work in progress but finally on the road!)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

73 Camaro project in a million pieces
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old Mar 11th, 10, 03:58 AM
Super Moderator
Bess-68's rule

Garage
Re: Crank Case Pressure oil leaks ?? Help