1989 Camaro sitting in garage for 7 years - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old Mar 12th, 10, 05:19 PM Thread Starter

1989 Camaro sitting in garage for 7 years

Someone hit me in this car (1989 Iroc Z28 Convertible) in 2001 and messed up the front but I still was able to drive home just fine and happily it was only metal damage. I started it for the first 2 years for 15mins at a time but the battery died and real life got in the way and it sat for the next 7 years buried under boxes in an attached garage.

I have read people's post on 20+ year cars and 2year cars, I want to get this road ready again, but I am an extreme amateur on cars (if it was a computer I wouldn't be asking for help) and as most I am somewhat limited on funds (maybe spending $200/mo on restoration). What do I "have" to do to get this up and running again?

I know I need to empty the gas, unfortunately it is a full 18 gallon tank according to gauge. (sigh) I was told I could try to find the plug but its a convertible with tank between the seats and the top. I don't have the know how or tools to drop the tank and even if I find the plug what do I do with 20 gals of crap gas?

What else besides oil and coolant "has" to be replaced to ensure I don't damage something?

Thanks for your help guys.

Beginner rebuilder
Devan
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old Mar 12th, 10, 07:11 PM
Senior Tech
Shawn

Re: 1989 Camaro sitting in garage for 7 years

IMO the gas will be fine, gas has a long shelf life when it is stored properly (like in a garage) when there is no extreme temperature changes.

many people will probably not like my answer, but i would run the car until it warms up completely, then let it cool and change the oil.

I would check the coolant and see how it looks, if it is nice and bright green i think you would be fine.