Hardened pushrod question - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old Apr 1st, 10, 04:51 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech

Hardened pushrod question

Hey guys, newb questions here, but anyways...got some 186 heads and they have screw in studs and guideplates, but didn't come with pushrods. the machine shop guys is going through them to check for cracks etc, but says I need hardened pushrods to go with the guideplates. So, the question is, how much is a set usually? He is quoting me 100 bucks, and I just feel like that is way more than they should be going off of random searches on summit etc.

the other question, is that, those heads on a 327, how will I know what size to buy/length if I tell him to nix the pushrods? And what brand etc? I am really new to the pushrod setup, so any help would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old Apr 1st, 10, 06:03 PM
Super Moderator
Bess-68's rule

Garage
Re: Hardened pushrod question

Guide plates do require hardened pushrods, good brand name, but cheaper from one of the mail order houses. Standard SBC will work unless you have a smaller base circle camshaft, then you should have a pushrod checker to measure for the correct length.

Give a man a rescued dog for the health of both their souls. May 2017 ROTM Winner - Thank you!
'
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
CUBS - 2016 World Series Champions - Thank you, Joe Madden enjoy your next chapter.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old Apr 1st, 10, 06:03 PM
Senior Tech
Ron