Recommendaton on how to make more power - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old Mar 24th, 11, 02:18 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
J

Recommendaton on how to make more power

Just built my 383 (specs below). Fun to drive but as I've read in previous post ....HP is like a drug.....you want more. So I'm hooked!

So my question to everyone is what can I do to make more power. I'm willing to spend up to $2k......don't really want to spend it all on this but that's my budget. I'd like to make 500hp if possible.

What does everyone recommend? This is a weekend car and maybe some track time on occassion but mostly street. I'm assuming some may say nitrous........I have no previous experience and a little gun shy from a lot of the horror stories. I thought maybe a simple 50 shot so I wouldn't have to mess with timing, etc?

Thanks in advance.

New GM 4 bolt main, Probe Industries SRS forged pistons, Probe cast crank and Probe forged rods. Bearings (rod and main) are Clevite perfect circle (P-Bearings), Roller Rockers are Scorpion Performance 1.5, Isky Hydraulic Roller Camshaft custom made and custom ground cam (Duration 282 / Cam Lift 353 / Valve Lift 530......duration at .050 is 234) Manley Pushrods, Gear Drive Set Cloyes, Heads are Aluminum Patriot Performance 185cc Intake and 64 cc combustion chamber (2.02"/1.60"), Compression 9.86:1 - 9.90:1, B & M 2400 Holeshot torque converter, 4.10 posi rear end, Headers, Holley 750 Double Pumper, Victor Jr Manifold, March Mid Mount Pulley System, Electric Fan.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old Mar 25th, 11, 08:58 AM
Senior Tech
Brandon

Re: Recommendaton on how to make more power

First two things I would do is add a 1.6 Rocker to increase the lift slightly and ditch that Vic Jr Intake for an Air Gap. You have a stout combo as it is...Vic Jr is hurting you. Next I would ditch the heads a and get something in a 210-215 runner.