Distributor install question - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old Apr 1st, 11, 07:12 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Marc

Distributor install question

I am replacing my old HEI in a 350. Put it to TDC, rotor pointing on #1 cylinder, and removed. I am installing an MSD Ready to Run. However, it will not seat with the rotor pointing at #1- its seated pointing at #4, and the timing mark is right around 0. Do I just need to make sure that with the cap installed, whatever terminal the rotor is pointing at, that wire goes to #1? I am not an engine expert, so any help is very much appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old Apr 1st, 11, 07:30 PM
Gold Lifetime Member
Steve

Re: Distributor install question

You could do that and follow the firing order 1 8 4 3 6 5 7 2 or use a long screwdriver and turn the shaft of the oil pump ( under the dist) counterclockwise until the rotor points to #1.

69 SS, 350/300 h.p., M-20, 12 bolt, matching numbers.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old Apr 1st, 11, 07:33 PM
Senior Tech
Steiner

Because of the gear mesh, your rotor will turn when you install it. You want to start dropping it in with the rotor positioned counter-clockwise from where you want it to line up.

If your new distributor is an HEI, put a mark on the body that lines up with the number 1 post. Put a second mark 2-1/4" to the right of that mark. Turn the rotor counter-clockwise so the leading edge of the rotor is now lined up with your second mark. Hold the distributor over the hole so the vacuum can is pointing 45 degrees across the engine (towards the passenger side tire or so) and lower it. When the gears mesh, your rotor should rotate clockwise and the leading edge should line up with your number one post mark.