LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old Apr 1st, 11, 07:28 PM Thread Starter
Tech Team

Cam Button Question

My engine:

>94' 350 2-bolt main
>Iron Vortec Heads
>Comp Cams Xtreme Engergy roller cam

So I found out after the fact that I maybe should have used a cam button when installing my cam. The cam was actually installed by the machine shop that did my engine. Nobody at the machine shop mentioned needing a cam button but the engine was delivered w/o the timing chain cover on it.

Here's why I'm concerned. I have a few issues with my engine that I'm trying to figure out and I'm a novice here so unfortunately I'm learning this stuff the hard way. I've got some kind of a knock happening... Now I've spun a bearing before so I know what that sounds like. This knock is coming from the front of the engine area and doesn't sound like its low. So... I don't have a cam button on my cam. Is there any chance its walking and causing a knock sound?

I can't figure out what else it could possibly be really... It doesn't really sound like a lifter or a "ping/tick" its more of a low knocking sound and is really only noticeable at idle and on the down rev after i let off the gas.

My engine is also running REALLY rich but thats another discussion! Thanks guys...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old Apr 1st, 11, 07:40 PM
Senior Tech
Steiner

Re: Cam Button Question

For a '94 block and non-retro roller cam which is what they should've used, no button is required. It should have had a retainer plate on the front. It would be behind the cam gear so you might not see it right off.

The cam on the right is a non-retro (OEM type) roller. You can see how the retainer plate holds it in.

One thing that can make noise if you are running a mechanical fuel pump is putting a bronze tip fuel pump pushrod in if you do not have a billet cam. A regular stock type cast roller cam will eat the bronze off.

'69 Camaro