Brief Rough Idle After Start - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old May 27th, 14, 04:17 PM Thread Starter
Richard

Brief Rough Idle After Start

I recently posted an issue with the fuel gauge on my 1969 Camaro and got the problem solved very quickly by a couple of great board members. Thanks Vette-Freak and 69-Pace! I’m back again with another puzzler—at least for me—that I’ve been battling for a couple of months now. As usual, thanks in advance for your thoughts.

The problem:
After I drive the car normally and then let it sit for a few hours, I can start the engine but then really struggle to keep it running. For about 20 seconds, it stumbles like it’s running on only half of the cylinders and then smooths out and is fine. Of course, this only happens when everyone’s watching. It’s a real crowd pleaser among anti-Camaro crowd at the local drive-in on Saturday night. Supremely embarrassing.

In many other situations, especially ones that don’t involve Camaro haters, like in the morning after sitting in the garage, after stopping at the drug store for a few minutes, etc., the car starts and runs fine.

Also, there is a raw fuel smell very often when driving. Prior to the installation of the phenolic spacer (see below), I noticed the fuel boiling off in the primary and secondary bowls.

The general setup:
  • 1969 Camaro purchased about 4 months ago (We’re still in the wooing phase and getting to know each other.)
  • 427cid, stock heads, cam
  • Road Demon 750 (vacuum secondary), electric choke
  • Stock cowl induction air cleaner assembly
  • HEI ignition
  • Mechanical fuel pump, no return line
  • 92 octane Chevron with “up to 10% ethanol” (With my luck, it’s right at 10%.)
What I’ve done so far:
  • Double-, triple-, quadruple-checked for fuel leaks; none detected
  • Checked that choke linkage was not obstructed by air cleaner assembly