camaro 327 engine oil galley - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old Jun 10th, 14, 10:20 AM Thread Starter
Mike

camaro 327 engine oil galley

Hello this is my first time posting. I have a 1967 RS/SS with a original 327 engine. I rebuilt the engine and when I tried to run it oil shot out a oil galley plug. under side of a head.. I missed this plug was wondering if there are others. Does anyone know where all the oil and coolant galley plugs need to go?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old Jun 10th, 14, 10:38 AM
Gold Lifetime Member
John

Red face Re: camaro 327 engine oil galley

I would imagine you are talking about the galley machining plug at the rear of the engine.
This plug is on the top of the block right behind the drivers side head.
If missing or miss-installed it can be a mess, same goes for a leaking or missing rear cam galley plug in the bellhousing area.

There is only that one plug on top and the rear cam plugs 'outside' on a SBC, but there are numerous machining plugs inside the normally covered parts of the block.
Most common missing in there is the plug under the rear main cap. If this plug is missing your oil pressure can be low, but more important is the oil is not being routed properly to the filter!
The front of the engine also has plugs behind the cam upper gear that would drain into the cam timing chain area if missing or leaking. These are normally not an issue unless completely missing ...
There is also a large Cam plug at the rear of the engine - these can/have leaked if not properly installed also.

You will need to pull the head to properly repair/replace the upper rear oil plug.

Coolant - or 'Freeze' - plugs go in the large holes on the side (2 or 3 on each side depending on block) and at rear bellhousing area.
These should all be in place and not leak coolant if properly installed.

1968 Convertible
Some trucks