Weak Vacuum & Pulse in Idle - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old Jun 24th, 14, 09:59 AM Thread Starter
Gold Lifetime Member
Jeremy

Weak Vacuum & Pulse in Idle

Hi All,

I have another engine question. My relatively stock 350 is only pulling about 10" of vacuum at idle. I have sprayed brake cleaner everywhere and besides the usual pulse in the idle that I seem to have the RPM does not change one bit so the Intake\Carb\ entire outside of the engine is sealed tight.

So like I mentioned my motor has a slight pulse that is not quite regular. She idles about 800RPM but every once in a while dips to about 600 for about a second and then right back up to 800. The odd thing is that it is not consistent, like every 4 seconds it does it it seems to be fairly random but frequent if that makes sense.

I have checked just about everything I can think of to check but I am a backyard mechanic at best so what am I missing? Is my motor just getting old and tired?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old Jun 24th, 14, 10:05 AM
Senior Tech
Scott

Re: Weak Vacuum & Pulse in Idle

Does the car have power brakes and if so, have you checked the check valve on the vacuum booster?

Have you checked the PCV valve?

Both are items that can cause vacuum leaks and effect performance.

69 Camaro Z/28 RS, original Azure Turquoise, M21 & 3.73 12-bolt posi. NOM 406ci, AFR 210 heads, Straub hyd. roller cam & Dynatech 1-3/4" > 1-7/8" headers, QuickFuel 750 Annular. Photos at:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old Jun 24th, 14, 10:09 AM Thread Starter
Gold Lifetime Member
Jeremy

No Power breaks and I just checked the PCV, when I put a piece of paper under it it gets sucked onto the valve with a good amount of force.

Last edited by jeremywrags; Jun 24th, 14 at 10:23 AM.