Distributor Rotor not turning - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 55 (permalink) Old Jul 27th, 14, 11:55 AM Thread Starter
Tech Team
Todd

Distributor Rotor not turning

Bad news for me. I was driving down the highway at 60 mph and my 69 396 cut out. Upon further inspection I found my distributor rotor not turning. I'm not an expert but I am going to pull the distributor out tonight and look at it. Any tips?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 55 (permalink) Old Jul 27th, 14, 12:12 PM
Admin/Super Moderator
Brian

Garage
Re: Distributor Rotor not turning

Well I would pull the coil wire and manually rotate the crank to cylinder 1 TDC then mark position before you pull the dizzy.

Sent from my iPhone using Autoguide

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1969 Z11 Pace Car - L48 350cid/300hp - 4 Speed Muncie 12 bolt rear.

Super Moderator Team Camaro
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to send me a private message
post #3 of 55 (permalink) Old Jul 27th, 14, 12:21 PM Thread Starter
Tech Team
Todd

Ok, I'll do that. Thx. Any guess of what the prob may be? Distributor, cam, timing chain? If it's not something easy I may have to take it to a shop because I have no place right now to work on it. Sucks, bad timing. No pun intended.

post #4 of 55 (permalink) Old Jul 27th, 14, 12:49 PM
Senior Tech
kevin

it could be the pin that holds the gear on broke, came out {unlikely)
could be distributor shaft broke. had that happen in a 62 chevy II
could be the cam broke. had that happen in a 64 impala
could be the a fiber timing gear lost all its teeth. had that happen on a 73 monte carlo
good luck hope it is something easy
post #5 of 55 (permalink) Old Jul 27th, 14, 12:54 PM
Senior Tech
Doug