Engine vibration - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old Aug 30th, 14, 09:23 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Larry

Engine vibration

I have owned this car (69Z28 with a 302) for 36 years and the engine has had a small vibration in it ever since. I noticed the vibration when I first bought it in 1978 but I did some street racing with it anyway. I have recently finished a complete restoration and now I'm focusing in on the vibration. With the car not moving, I can feel the vibration when I race the engine to maybe 3000 rpm with the clutch engaged or in neutral and the clutch disengaged. I'm a steel fabricator by trade and not a mechanic. Could the problem be the flywheel or the harmonic balancer. Please advise.

IT KEEPS ME GOING
69 Z/28
711 67 67
02D X33
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old Aug 31st, 14, 06:10 AM
Gold Lifetime Member
Don

Re: Engine vibration

I have pulled the balancer off and run motor without it, just to verify what you are saying, it was not that . You may have something on the clutch/flywheel end. I would start there.
Sure its not a miss? Fan clutch? Water pump? You can pull the belts off to eliminate these momentarily to try and isolate.

Don
TC # 349
Zdld17:69 Z/RS,306, NOR141111, 9N554XXX, 12A, X3G, 59/59,723, AFR 195,CCC282/290HR, TKO 600, BU1122B1E Owner since Dec 1968

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old Aug 31st, 14, 07:12 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Larry

Thanks Don,
My painter is touching up some of my assembly mistakes so it will be about 3-weeks before I get it back. I'll try removing the fan belt first.

IT KEEPS ME GOING
69 Z/28
711 67 67
02D X33

post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old Aug 31st, 14, 10:15 PM
Senior Tech
Wes