heads - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old Oct 5th, 14, 03:58 PM Thread Starter
mitchell

heads

I have a 69 Camaro with a 3963512 dated j-28-68 hi-perf the car build date is 01A the mechanic I have said its a 427 could someone tell me what heads it should have on it im new at this and don't have a clue.thanks gtyler
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old Oct 5th, 14, 04:51 PM
Senior Tech
Brian

Re: heads

That block was used for 427s in 1969. What heads were on it would depend on what the application was for the engine. Look on the pad to see if there are any codes there. That will tell us what the engine originally was and we'll know what heads were on it. See here: http://www.camaros.org/drivetrain.shtml

Experience...... It's what you get when you didn't get what you wanted.
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old Oct 6th, 14, 09:29 AM
Senior Tech
Dave

Re: heads

Well we all know that the number of 427's installed in a Camaro by the factory were very limited (and almost all have been accounted for, with those few missing ones assumed wrecked beyond repair).

That leaves you with a 427 block casting number. It could be a 390 horse out of a big B-body or pick-up truck, or a 425 or 435 horse hi-perf motor with cast iron or aluminum heads off of a Corvette. A magnet will tell you if you have painted aluminum heads or not.

In 1969 the factory used a 320 cc intake rectangular port head with 2.19 inch intakes and 1.72 inch exhaust valves. It would be a closed chamber head at around 102 cc in volume with a large dome on the piston to match the head. These engines ran 11.25:1 compression which back when new burned 104 octane Sunoco 260, or 102 octane American white pump gasoline (today that is considered race gas).