Need help choosing a cam - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old Oct 23rd, 14, 08:42 PM Thread Starter
Rob

Need help choosing a cam

I recently purchased a '68 with a 10 over 396 with a 292 straight cam. I'm having some valve train noise that sounds like it's coming from the rear valves. First I tried having the valves adjusted and the ticking didn't stop. Now I'm being told I'll prob need a new cam. I'm relatively new to the muscle car world and could use some advice.
My questions are.
Does this sound accurate?
What would be a good can to go with and how much should it cost to install?

Thanks, Rob
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old Oct 23rd, 14, 09:07 PM
Senior Tech
Chad

Re: Need help choosing a cam

I'm not sure that I'd go with a 'probably' diagnosis. Find someone who can give you an accurate reading of what is going on. Replacing a cam, then lifters, valves and who knows what else can get expensive, and your issue could still remain. Maybe post a video or audio clip and some of the fine folks here can point you in the right direction. A mechanics stethoscope also goes a long way to pinpointing where exactly the sound is coming from.

Good luck!

67 Black RS Coupe, 383, M21 & 10 Bolt Posi. Edelbrock E-Tech 170 Heads, 2204 Roller Cam, Air Gap Intake.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by cv2065; Oct 23rd, 14 at 09:17 PM.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old Oct 23rd, 14, 09:21 PM Thread Starter
Rob

http://youtu.be/_DuY9N7zUCg

Last edited by Robd68; Oct 23rd, 14 at 09:34 PM.

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old Oct 23rd, 14, 10:07 PM
Senior Tech
Simon

Garage

Rob, I had some valve train noise coming from the rear cylinders on my small block.......was the header gaskets. Sometimes you can't really tighten the last bolts cause of the firewall.