380 SB Build - "Project Resurrection" - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 32 (permalink) Old Nov 11th, 14, 09:23 AM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Brad

380 SB Build - "Project Resurrection"

As a continuation of my long term issues with my health and engine in my 69 I'm starting a new thread.

My health is good now and it's time to get this Camaro back in order for Spring. Hence, 'Project Resurrection'.

Long story short (read the link above), while I was in the hospital I let someone build my 406 for me, first engine I haven't built for myself in 20+ years, and I don't think there is a correct clearance in it. So I decided to let it sit until I could build another.

I have a nice 511 casting 400 4 bolt over at G&G Machine in Stephenville, Texas (Donnell Gaines). Some of you may know who Donnell is but he has a long time reputation as a great engine builder, I know him personally and trust his work, plus he is only 30 miles west of me. He has align honed and decked the block and is waiting on the Scat stroker kit to arrive to finish hone and assemble.

I went with the Scat 1-90610BI which is a 3.48" stroke Scat 9000 series cast crank, forged I beam rods and forged Icon IC9938 pistons which are -3.7cc flat tops, all balanced by Scat (although Donnell is going to check it all to verify everything). Why a cast crank? I'm not going to make enough HP to require forged but certainly prefer forged rods and pistons even though I'll never spray it.

I was going to use my Edelbrock RPM Performer 70cc heads but as they are 185cc and have some years on them I decided to go with a pair of Dart Pro 1 200cc heads at 72cc which flow a little over 300 with the 2.05/1.60 SS valves and CompCam springs/guidplates. Along with my Edelbrock Air Gap intake it should work well. I'm keeping my new Edelbrock 750 but will get it tuned properly this time.