What is the difference between a 2 stroke and 4 stroke engine - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old Jan 1st, 05, 03:38 AM Thread Starter
Senior Tech

I know that this may seem like a very stupid question, but as many of you already know, I am not a mechanic and beyond basic tune-ups, my knowledge of motors is somewhat limited.

Can anyone explain this to me?

When you buy an American car, you provide work for a man and his family for three months. -Jay Leno
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old Jan 1st, 05, 03:49 AM
Gold Lifetime Member
Bruno

Angry

This people know better english than me, so I'll let them explain. [img]graemlins/beers.gif[/img]
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old Jan 1st, 05, 06:11 AM
Senior Tech

My wife thinks it's a sex thing....

"For those that will fight for it...FREEDOM ...has a flavor the protected shall never know."
Semper Fi! L/Cpl Edwin L. "Tim" Craft, B Co 3rd AT's, Khe Sanh Combat Base, February, 1968

post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old Jan 1st, 05, 07:02 AM
Gold Lifetime Member
Jim

Did that link help, Garfield?

All engine require "intake" "Compression" "power" & "exhaust"

Basically, a 4 stroke requires 2 complete revolutions of the engine to produce 1 ignition and power stroke. Each "cycle" above gets ~180 degrees of crank rotation.

In a 2 stroke, compression sorta happens in the crankcase. The fuel/air mix is actually working both above and below the piston. Thats why you hafta mix oil with your fuel. Intake and exhaust happen simultaneously, and the plug fires every time the piston reaches the top of the cylinder.

2 strokes have the potential of producing way more power than 4 strokes (all else being equal) but they also dump a lot of unburned fuel out the exhaust, and when "tuned" for max power, typically operate in a very narrow rpm range.