383 Stroker-Beginner here - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old May 26th, 15, 04:57 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Bobby

383 Stroker-Beginner here

Team, need help on buildingwhat will hopefully be my first race engine. I've got my 350 tore down and am fixing to purchase a rotating assembly soon. The assembly I'm going to buy is not going to come with a damper or flywheel (most assemblies don't from what I've seen). How do I know if I need to purchase an internal or external balanced damper/flywheel? Thanks

1976 Camaro, M20 Muncie 4 Speed, Hurst equipped
1972 Camaro, Full Drag Car
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old May 26th, 15, 06:05 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Bobby

Re: 383 Stroker-Beginner here

Think I got it figured out. Post resolved. Thanks However, suggestions on a 383 build are welcome.

post #3 of 29 (permalink) Old May 26th, 15, 06:47 PM
Gold Lifetime Member
Gary

I also have a 350 block at my machine shop, and considering going the 383 route using a complete balanced rotating assembly, so I'm very interested in responses here. I think from prior posts, most here and elsewhere consider the SCAT crank assemblies to be superior to the Eagles?

My understanding of the balancing is this: An internally balanced assembly is balanced without the damper or flywheel/flexplate installed. You would get your damper and flywheel independently balanced to use them with it. The advantage being that is for whatever reason you replaced your flywheel or balancer, those new parts would be all that was necessary to be balanced.

If, OTOH, your assembly is balanced with a specific damper and flywheel, (ie. externally balanced) then if you had to replace one of those parts, the new replacement part would have to exhibit the same characteristics of weight/balance as the one being replaced in order to preserve the balance of your entire assembly.