Newbe needs help finding a motor - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old Jun 12th, 15, 07:49 PM Thread Starter
Brant

Newbe needs help finding a motor

Hi all, I am a new member to the forum and I need a little help. So I own a 1979 pontiac trans am, which came with a 403 ci motor. The motor still runs fine but its a bit of a dog since this was a time that eco friendly and smog stuff was hitting the market. Because of that, the engine went from great to not so great. Add in another 35 years of age and several different owners, who knows what it has been through. I have been working with a local engine builder for two years now and would ask him to help me build it but he doesn't really have the time. We have talked about the set up that I should run since I want to use this as cursing and pro touring car. We have both agreed on an engine that will make around 500(+/-) hp and 500+ tq. I want the engine to be a 383 stroker or something ion that range that is a small block. We decided on the stroker because it makes more torque which is good for quick acceleration, and most of the time I will be under 5000 rpm when driving around with the occasional full throttle and what not xD. Of course horsepower cost money, and that is something I do not have much of since I am a college student. I can afford to do $3,000 but my limit is $3,500 or so. I am willing to drive depending on how far the location is. I have found a couple ads at racingjunk.com, but I don't have enough experience to be able to decided if it is a good or bad deal. I do know some parts to look for and some other things to look for but there are some things that I know nothing about such as heads and cam shafts.