should an LS1 use oil??? - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old Nov 6th, 00, 11:23 AM Thread Starter

my 99Z28 LS1 seems to be using quite a bit of oil, sometimes as much as 2 quarts between changes. is this normal? don't see blue smoke or leaks underneath.

thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old Nov 6th, 00, 11:33 AM

im no expert but i wouldnt think it should do that on a newer motor like that but dunno what it could be. Do u hot rod it alot? , and also check your oil plug for leaks and your oil filter never know .and make sure there tight and also look at the front of your intake and make sure its not leakin there cause i blew that out on my truck and it used more oil after that happened good luck
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old Nov 6th, 00, 11:57 AM
Senior Tech
Mark

How many miles you put on between changes? You won't see blue smoke because the cat. converter will suck it up.

Mark

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old Nov 6th, 00, 12:34 PM Thread Starter

try to do it every 3000mi, but you know how that goes, i've slipped into the habit of letting the "change oil" warning light tell me when to do it, which is usually about every 4000. i don't see any leaks around the plug, filter, or intake. it's a Z, so naturally i'm going to get squirrely every now and then, but i don't think i'm particularly hard on the motor. it's not like i blow away cobras off the line every day, just every once in a while. i use standard 5W/30, not synthetic. maybe synthetic would help if the oil's breaking down or burning... i don't know, just thought other ls1 owners could let me know if they have experienced the same. thanks for your suggestions.
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old Nov 6th, 00, 12:46 PM
DjD
Retired
Dennis

Garage