gonna drop a new engine in my 68 - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 34 (permalink) Old Jun 26th, 15, 12:28 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Derek

gonna drop a new engine in my 68

so here it is: i am not a mechanic nor do i understand the technicalities that go into mechanics. i drive cars, i dont know how to work on them.

i am thinking of upgrading a 327 to a bigger engine. in my head, 350 or 383 are the two i am contemplating. im not dragging anyone...its gonna be a daily street driver.

who has an opinion on which way to go? i want my car to have balls, but i dont need to be going too crazy.

knowledge is power.......

derek
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 34 (permalink) Old Jun 26th, 15, 12:50 PM
Senior Tech
Anne

Re: gonna drop a new engine in my 68

I like this for a traditional smallblock :
http://www.crateenginedepot.com/ZZ38...P9982C556.aspx
-------------
450 horsepower at in incredibly low 5400 RPM, and 460 ft.lbs of torque at 4500 RPM make this the ideal hot street engine.

The excellent air handling and combustion characteristics of the Fast Burn cylinder heads combined with the ZZ383/450's 3.800" stroke, make this engine the benchmark against which all other 383 inch small-blocks should be measured. And its tough, too.

The 4340 nitrided and induction hardened crank and unique forged PM rods see to that.
The 9.6 to 1 compression ratio ensures that the ZZ383/450 is 92 octane pump gas friendly.

The ZZ383/450 gets a stout .509/.528 lift steel camshaft with 222/230 duration at .050 lift. Hydraulic roller lifters and GM's time tested 1.5 to 1 roller rocker arms round ou the valve train.
And, of course, it has the Fast Burn head's lightweight stainless steel valves and retainers for reliable performance at extended RPM.

GM's testing was completed using a GM single plane intake, P/N 12496822 and a 750 CFM Demon carburetor with mechanical secondaries.