Distributor Gear Chewed Up? - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old Jul 29th, 02, 07:13 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech

Okay motor head buddies, I need some more help. I have a brand new crate ZZ4 short block, TFS 23 degree heads, Comp Cams Hyd Roller, MSD billet distributor/Digital 6 ignition, and all of the associated goodies. I went for another break-in ride yesterday (I only have about 200 or so miles on the whole combo), and the car died. Just lost power, no noises or anything.

The car would not start, but turned over without issue for MANY tries. After diagnosing the problem, I determined that there was no spark. Isolated it to the distributor, the rotor was not turning. Pulled the distributor, and the cam gear was totally chewed up, rounded off big time in one section. I don't get it.

I have had more problems with this car, this is the second motor. I am not a pro, but have done numerous motors in the past and NEVER had a problem. I am using great parts, and checking everything that I can, but still have these freak issues. What the heck could cause the cam gear to let go? Is this another "suspect" issue with the cam? I had no issues with the motor break in, it always had plenty of oil pressure, I did not beat on it at all (was extra careful), used plenty of assembly lube on the gears, changed the oil, everything I was supposed to do. Now I am looking, yet again, at a motor that is contaminated with metal, and do not know why it happened.

Could it be the oil pump siezed? to be honest, I did not notice the oil pressure after I tried cranking it up, but I think I would have noticed that? Any other ideas? Am I just not destined to have a killer 69????

Any ideas appreciated.
M

------------------
69 SS, ZZ430 Look-alike, Tremec TKO, Hotchkis Suspension
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old Jul 30th, 02, 07:49 AM
Senior Tech
Josh