Turbo Garrett t3 - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old Oct 27th, 03, 03:13 PM Thread Starter

Send a message via AIM to RuskayaMafia
Question

Got the turbo but need other parts for a 1984 camaro 5.0 liter carb, any advice on which parts to buy?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old Oct 28th, 03, 05:20 AM
Senior Tech
John

Welcome to Team Camaro!

It is going to take a lot of fabrication and carb tuning. You're going to need some sort of blow off valve (BOV), wastegate, oil plumbing to the turbo, and an intercooler of some sort would be helpful.

You should take a look over at www.pro-touring.com and ask your question over there. Quite a few people playing with turbos on Chevy V8s.

Are you planning on just running the single turbo? Granted, I'm not a turbo expert, but from what I have read about them, the T3 is a fairly small turbo. In a single turbo application, you're going to have great spool up time for low end grunt, but I honestly don't know how much power it can support.

Good luck! [img]graemlins/thumbsup.gif[/img]
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old Oct 28th, 03, 08:44 AM
DL
Senior Tech
David

Hi, welcome to the site!

I am also playing around with turbo(s) for my '67 Camaro.
A single T3 turbo will be kind of small for your application, 2 T25 or 2 T28 or 2 T3 turbos will be much more better to gain some power.
I also recomend the pro-touring website, and www.grapeaperacing.com is also a very great site for turbo V8 engines, the owner of this site is also member of this site.
The things you need is a special carb (blow-through carb) or you can probbably rebuild your current carb, you will need to make new headers (or use your current ones, but it will not look that nice....hey, it will work though ), and you will need some plumbing AND A GOOD BOOK ON TURBOCHARGING. Read before you start, just my .02 cents

Goodluck

David
'67 Camaro crossram