Turbo 400 not enough rpms - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old Mar 14th, 01, 04:35 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech

Question

I'm new to this veerry impressive site. I am in the process of building a 355cid (350+30) 420 hp(edelbrock rpm performer clone) to exchange and shelf the 327 in my 68. My situation is i'm running a turbo 400 stock converter for now (until is replaced with about a 2600 to 2800) that is shifting at about 5000 (pressure shifts at about 5500 but I don't like doing that). my question is how can I tweek this baby to shift at 6000 to 6500? I don't know if it has the long or short modulator. Is there much difference in them? For interest sake the rear end is still 2.73 until such time as I can get and install 3.73 to 4.10.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old Mar 14th, 01, 05:28 PM
Senior Tech

You need a governor spring and weight kit. the only problem is I don't know where you can get one. Try calling TCI. etc it is easy to do but it is trial and error

post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old Mar 14th, 01, 07:00 PM
Senior Tech
John

Have you already bought the RPM cam? Lots of people here have said that it is very weak on torque in the street driving range.

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old Mar 14th, 01, 07:22 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech

Talking