calling all 6cyl 250 gurus - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old Mar 8th, 03, 02:17 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech

Exclamation

Hey everyone,

I am looking to squeeze every nanospec of power out of my straight 6.
I am a bit of a rookie when it comes to performance building so I am looking for some assistance. I got questions, lots of questions!

Right now I have a 1 bbl Rochester carb, it is not original for the Camaro. Somewhere down the line before I got the car someone slapped a carb from a 67 Nova on it. Anyway, my first of many questions is: is there some sort of adapter plate or something that would allow me to upgrade my carb to a 2 or a 4 bbl?? On cliffordperformanceshop.com they sell an intake manifold that you can have dual 2 or 4bbl carbs. What is the advantage of having 2? How does that help? Are there noticeable performance changes? Is it worth the $300 for the intake and then another $500+ for 2 carbs?
I guy I work with told me that his uncle has this same engine (250) and that he put a camshaft from the 292 engine in it and it made a big difference? Will that really work?? Is he just blowing smoke up someone's...??
Last question (for right now anyway): Is it advantageous to upgrade to a HEI distributor? I need to replace my distribtor and if I am going to replace it I might as well do it right. Should I go with an HEI? Are they better?

Man that was long. Thanks in advance.

Heath
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old Mar 8th, 03, 03:13 PM
Gold Lifetime Member
Paul

Garage
Heath;

The Clifford single 4 bbl intake (water heated) is what you need. Don't bother with a dual quad. You have to build a very radical engine to justify that.

As for exhaust, use the Clifford header. It fits & it works.