pinion seal replacement - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old Jan 28th, 01, 05:08 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech

I need to replace the pinion seal in the rear end of my 68 12 bolt. Is this very difficult? I have never done this before. It seams to be fairly simple but I would like to know what you guys have to say about it first. Erik
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old Jan 28th, 01, 08:00 PM
Senior Tech
Joe

I just did the one o my 69 12 bolt. Very easy. I just removed the driveshaft, unbolted the pinion nut and pried out the old seal. Actually I used a hammer and chisel (gently). the new seal taps in with a block and hammer. I was told I should have replaced the crush sleeve while it was out, but I could not get one locally (Sunday) so i just replaced the seal. I tightened the pinion nut just until there was no play in the pinion and then backed off a hair. I don't have a torque wrench (yet) so I treated it like a front wheel bearing.
I'm sure this is not the professional way, so I'm sure you will get feedback on the proper way as well. Hope this helps.
Joe

------------------
69 SS396 Clone, B&M TH400, 12 Bolt Posi, Blue w/White Z28 Stripes
[email protected]
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old Jan 29th, 01, 03:39 AM
Senior Tech

Don't back off after tightnen the nut! You have to have preload on the pinion bearing or you will ruin the gearset, I always count the # of threads coming through the nut and replace a new nut at the same position. And always stake the new nut on the pinion, on the flat areas of the nut just hit with a punch. Once had a pinion nut work loose on a friends 69 SS Camino at the dragstrip, It was ugly, ruined everything from the transmission back, and my pants

------------------
69 rallye green X77 Z/28,1967 SS 396 Conv. 1974 c-10 454 swb

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old Jan 29th, 01, 05:11 PM
Senior Tech
Freddie