Require 383 build info - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old Jul 31st, 03, 08:53 PM Thread Starter

Hello folks, I just found this site this evening, spent 3 hours reading engine posts. Great info.

I am looking for information on building up a 383. I am a novice (virgin actually) at engine rebuilding. But not scared to turn a wrench as I'm in the midst of restoring my 81 monte. Just paint and motor to go. For the record I've owned 9 camaros, 6 of them being 79-81's. I will be getting another one from that generation in the near future (to match my Zedder plate hanging on the wall) but for now I'm all about the Monte.

Earlier today, I popped my oil pan off to find a 2 bolt main, which just sucks ***, I had thought it was 4. This engine has coolant in the oil, along with parts of lifters, so finding the 2 bolt was closure for me saying bye to the engine. I have a 4 bolt engine lined up for beans so no harm, no foul. This engine I'm going to rebuild is a 4 bolt, I'm told it has 79,000 kms on it (roughly 55,000 miles) and it came from a 81 Z. I haven't had chance to get the casting numbers off it. FYI casting numbers off the broke motor was 39700010 and heads 333882. I've seen the heads off the new rebuild candidate and they are 1.74's (the smaller one than 1.94's) so I will be using my old heads as they are bigger / better. Unless of course I can find 202's which I may have a line on.

So to my questions. Firstly and mainly. Rebuilding a 383 over a 350? Is it worth the extra cost? What is the extra cost? What machine work needs to be done over and above what needs to be done for a 350? What kits are best values / fits? Best suppliers (Summit)? I guess I know or think I know that all it comes down to is clearancing. Do good stroker kits eliminate this need?