Engine jacking questions...**updated** - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old Aug 2nd, 03, 09:10 AM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Scott

Question

I am trying to remove the rear PS pump bracket on my '68 RS with a 350. From what I understand 2 motor mount bolts need to be removed to get the rear bracket off, but there does not seem to be enough clearance on the rearward most bolt to remove it without lifting the motor up away from the engine stand about 1" or so.

Where is the safest place to jack up the engine? Is there danger of caving in the oil pan if I use a 2x6 to spread the load? I should disconnect the headers and/ or collectors first, yes? I've never done this before and I don't want to damage any parts...

[ 08-09-2003, 12:39 PM: Message edited by: choptop ]

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old Aug 4th, 03, 08:51 AM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Scott

T3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old Aug 4th, 03, 10:34 AM
Gold Lifetime Member
John

If I am only going to raise the engine an inch or so I use a piece of 1X4 and place it along the edge of the oil pan (on the side bolts) and slowly raise the engine with my jack. This will give me enough clearance to get at soft plugs or mounts etc.
Place a Safety Block of 2X4(s) between the pan and frame before sticking you paws up in there anywhere.
Raise the engine slowly and check constantly for clearances at dist. cap, heater core, exhaust pipes & etc.. at each pump of jack.
Do not try to raise it by the Damper.
I haven't ever tried the Pan with 2X6 method of which you speak - but it just sounds wrong to me.

My .02

1968 Convertible
Some trucks

Other V8 things - some of which float