Five months on blocks...ready to start - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old Oct 2nd, 03, 06:20 AM Thread Starter
Senior Tech

I've researched as many things as I could think of in this regard, but I couldn't find the right keyword. I'm sure there have to be writings on this. I've been working on my car for five months now in my in-laws driveway (outside...Alabama Summer this year = ~95 degree days)...replaced the oil pan, filter, rebuilt the suspension, cleaned up the engine bay, and installed headers.

I'll be ready to start it this weekend if all goes well. The oil was changed two weeks ago when I changed the oil pan. What should I do pre-start in your opinions?

Know, too, that the headers aren't mated to the exhaust pipe yet...I've got to get to a muffler shop to do that. I was planning to drive it there slowly (~10 miles...it is about 65-70 degrees here). Is this a bad idea (apart from a possible ticket), or should I just get a wrecker?

Thanks, everybody!

1982 Camaro, 305, 4bbl Q-Jet
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old Oct 2nd, 03, 06:27 AM
Senior Tech
Al

There is no way I'd drive an open header car on the street. I'd consider the tow truck, or as a temporary solution, some flexible metal exhaust tubing attached with muffler clamps.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old Oct 2nd, 03, 06:41 AM
Senior Tech
Jim

Angry