396 Piston Teardown problems - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old Sep 9th, 03, 02:50 PM Thread Starter
Tech Team
Jim

Unhappy

Help, I am new to tearing down an engine and am having problems trying to get the pistons out. I am disassembling a '67 SS 396 MW coded motor, that has been out of a car for at least 10 years, no plugs in the heads, and always stored indoors. I have the heads. balancer and oil pan off, but the crank will not turn. The pistons seem very gunky, but not heavily rusted looking at all. I sprayed WD40 in all cylinders, and have some of it already leaking down. I tried using a 2x4 block of wood and a sledge on the piston to break the rings from the cylinder walls, but nothing is moving. All of the connecting rods have side to side play- is this normal? I will be using larger pistons, so saving this set and protecting the cylinder walls is not a big deal. I have a crankshaft socket with a leverage bar, and it still will not turn. I am tearing it down to save some bucks at the machine shop. Thanks for any advice.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old Sep 9th, 03, 03:25 PM
Senior Tech
Royce

Even though the pistons will not be used again, you need to be careful with the cylinder walls. You can ruin your block very easily. remember when talking about larger pistons or an overbore, we are only talking .010 -.030 you could easily knock a ding or gouge deeper than that. With that said you are on the right track by using lube. I would suggest loading up the cylinders with motor oil and letting them soak for a while. If you have access to a propane torch, a little heat could help a lot.