monoleafs too multi & 10 bolt to 12posi - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old Apr 12th, 01, 07:26 PM Thread Starter

Question

hi guys-
I just purchased my first camaro this week, its definitely "good Friday". My question stands simple and probably was asked many of times. (so I apologize)
its a plain Jane 69', with a 4 spd 350 (#;s matching). It has a 10 bolt and monoleaf springs... I don't want wheel hop, and I want a 12 bolt posi. Any suggetions to where I begin???I would like to do the multileafs 1st but not sure if this will change everything or anything.... I am new at this with my father, and we want to do it right! so any info would help.
Also does anybody have idea aboout how much this might cost me?? estimate will be fine!

Thanks to all
Fathom
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old Apr 13th, 01, 03:42 AM
Guess

Hi Fathom,

Welcome to the wonderful world of Camaros!

If you can post the assembly stamping letters/numbers from the front edge of the passenger side axle tube, you'll know which rearend is in it. It may be a posi unit already and there's really nothing wrong with a 10-bolt. The assembly stamping is very small and should be 2 letters, then 4 numbers and a letter/number combination. Like this: PB 0316G1
You can successfully swap the monoleafs for multileaf springs. That'll definitely help with wheel hop and save you some money. $200 for the entire swap. And you need to look close at the age and condition of all of the suspension bushings.... if you replace the springs you'll also need a hardware kit and new bushings front and back. And don't forget good gas shocks. That'll help prevent any wheel hop you may get.

Good luck and let us know! There is NO shortage of very expert help here on the Tech Forum. I am by far not one of those experts.

------------------
Joe
WCA Member
[email protected]
'97 Blazer - Bad wheel hop!
'69 wallet crusher