Manifold or headers on 1969 ZL-1? - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

View Poll Results: Manifolds or headers on a ZL-1 build?
Stock CBB manifolds? 6 37.50%
Hooker headers 2457? 10 62.50%
Voters: 16. You may not vote on this poll

1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old Nov 30th, 16, 07:28 AM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Hakan

Garage
Manifold or headers on 1969 ZL-1?

Hi,
As Im new to this with building a new engine, a ZL-1, for my 69 Camaro Im a bit ambivalent regarding what to use for the exhaust....stock manifolds or Hooker 2457 long headers?
As I understand the ZL-1 originally came with the stock CBB manifolds but typically day 2 change was to go with headers for performance reasons. Im just gonna drive my car for shows and sometimes do some street race, just for fun!
I have Hedman Hedders HTC long tube on my 355 CSB today and I'm happy with how they perform and sound. The rest of the exhaust is a 2" steel tubing with large Flowmaster mufflers, its a deep muscle car sound from it!
My plan is to keep this existing system when I change to the ZL-1 engine but should I go with the manifolds or the Hooker headers....?

1969 Camaro X44, hugger orange, 427 ZL-1, TH350, 4:10 12 bolt Posi, RPO Z87, black/white houndstooth, 14" steel wheels & dog dish, 02D built

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old Nov 30th, 16, 07:46 AM
John

Garage
Re: Manifold or headers on 1969 ZL-1?

I would go with the headers on your build. May also want to consider shorties for better ground clearance
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old Nov 30th, 16, 08:00 AM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Hakan

Garage

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vega$69 View Post
I would go with the headers on your build. May also want to consider shorties for better ground clearance
Thanks for quick answer, John!