white smoke and a knock/tick noise?? - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old Dec 13th, 18, 10:10 AM Thread Starter
Tech Team
Ralph

white smoke and a knock/tick noise??

Hi,

I have a 396 BBC and once it warms up, white smoke comes out of the passenger side area. It does have a fuel-ish smell to it. The carb is street demon carb which is brand new. I also hear a ticking noise on the passenger side when the engine warms up. I just bought the car from some one who claims the long block was a rebuild one that he bought and he installed the rest, but never tuned the carb.

How much trouble am I in? I've done some searches online and I've seen different opinions ranging from a head gasket issue to just a the carb running too rich,but I figured I'd ask here as well.... any tips or things to check would be greatly appreciated. I'm fairly new to this so any direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old Dec 13th, 18, 10:34 AM
John

Garage
Re: white smoke and a knock/tick noise??

Are you loosing coolant? If so head gasket

66 Chevelle Protour LS3/525(SOLD AT Mecum 2018)
69 SS396 Cortez Silver(SOLD)
69 Z28(Sold)
69 Pro Tour - LS3/T56
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(SOLD)
69 Pro Tour - LS7/T56 (SOLD)
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

69 Z28/RS Tribute355/5 Speed (SOLD)
69 RS Clone 427/TH400 (SOLD)
67 RSZZ502/5 Speed (SOLD)
69 Camaro 406 SBC/TH400 (SOLD)
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old Dec 13th, 18, 10:53 AM
Senior Tech
Robert

Garage