302 DZ help - exhaust blocked or restricted? - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old Apr 11th, 19, 08:03 AM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Chuck

Send a message via AIM to ChuckD Send a message via MSN to ChuckD
302 DZ help - exhaust blocked or restricted?

Hey Gang, I have been wrestling for several years to get this DZ motor to run right. I have been through the carb, curved the distributor, set valves, re-located vacuum advance, and followed most everybody's suggestions. However, I can't understand why I have such a fat-rich idle, and a dying car at hot idle. Above 2500 RPM, it runs just fine, but burns gas like crazy. Oil does not seem to be contaminated.

FYI...the exhaust sat on the garage floor for 3-4 years during a re-do, and when I initially started the car after the engine was done and the exhaust put back on, mouse blew out the tail pipes. This car has great and even compression, clean carb with proper jets and PV, solid ignition, and runs to 6500 RPM without a miss. Idle is set at 950, 14-16 degrees advance initial, and I get 10.5 inches of vacuum. Drive it for 15-20 minutes, and it won't idle, temp is 180-190. Could it be that the mufflers are just internally rusted as the car sits for many weeks/months between drive intervals? Mufflers are 20 years old at least. Help me Obe-Wans!

69 Z-28-Glacier Blue, X-77
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old Apr 11th, 19, 02:05 PM
Senior Tech
Steve

Re: 302 DZ help - exhaust blocked or restricted?

Do you have the correct PCV valve. Are the floats set correctly. Youre sure the balancer is correct with the timing mark in the right place. The coil and the condenser in the distributor if bad will fail when the engine gets up to temperature. Just giving you my experiences over the years.

1969 Z28

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.