Team Camaro Tech banner

383 refresh

3K views 15 replies 10 participants last post by  limpsilver 
#1 ·
Hi everybody.

First, I'm not an expert and I'll probably be wrong about a lot of things. I'm here to learn :)
I have a 383 stroker built in 2005 (I bought the car with this engine) :
- 383 scat crank 5140
- 4340 scat rodes
- 9.8-1 keith black pistons
- 256 - 264 solid flat tapet
- 1.6 rocker
- Dart heads 230cc
- edelbrock victor junior
- 9.9 compression

A compression test shows a good 175psi on all 8 cylinders.

As you can see it is a street/strip engine with a lot of cam and too big heads, 195 or 210 would have been enough.

I'm using it on the street, it is not the perfect combo for me and I want to upgrade it.

What I want/how I use it :
- street only
- I'm running E85 only, it is way cheaper where I live
- As E85 is cheap, I don't care about mpg
- My car is a manual (3.7 rear axle)
- I want maximum area under the curve
- 500hp/tq are my dream numbers (I don't know if it is realistic)

I thing I need something like the medium specs on this article : https://www.hotrod.com/articles/ccrp-0808-383-stroker-small-block-chevy/

In order to keep it cheap, I would like to keep my heads, even if they are too big.

What do you think of :
- increasing CR to 11:1
- smaller cam ~235/240
- roller cam

See less See more
#2 ·
Fabien,
I dont know what you have available to you in France but the first thing I would tell a customer here would be to put the car on a chassis dyno and see what you have right now. I would not be a bit surprised that your present combination is very close to the numbers you want.

#8 ·
Hello Bill. You are right, we have chassis dyno and it is a good first step.