67 SS starting problem - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old May 8th, 05, 10:26 AM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Steve

67 SS starting problem

I just picked up a 67 SS convertable that has not been started in about 8 years. I have put oil in the cylinders and turned it over by hand. I put a new battery in it and tried to start it, but nothing. I have power, but it almost seems that it might be a nuetral saftey switch, but not sure. I don't so much engine work, so I'm looking to the good world of Camaro owners out there to help me. I am new to Camaros, so be nice. If I could get some helpful tips, that would be great.
Thanks,
Steve
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old May 8th, 05, 10:59 AM
Gold Lifetime Member
Jim

Re: 67 SS starting problem

could be a bad starter, or the nuetral safty switch. You can access the switch, it's on the horseshoe shifter itself, take the cover off, 2 big wires, one purple, one purple with a white stripe. If you don't even get a click when you turn the key, that switch is probably your culprit, could be a frozen soldenoid too tho.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
New website for my vert is coming together. Do ya like the slide show on the home page?
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old May 8th, 05, 07:54 PM
Senior Tech

run a jumper wire from the hot side of the battery to the + side of the coil toss a 1/2 cup of gas down the carb and crank it and see if it tries to fire...dont leave the jumper wire on for to long it's just a quick test to see if it wants to start before you really trouble shoot the system.

'67 RS/SS 350
'67 SS 350

post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old May 8th, 05, 09:58 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Steve