BLEEDING at #7 - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old Nov 8th, 05, 10:18 AM Thread Starter

Question BLEEDING at #7

I have a 383 that has about 800 miles on it. This is my first build up and engine swap so I had a few hic-cups along the way. I finally have it running about where I want it to but I keep getting oil around the #7 plug. Enough that is leaves a draining stain around the plug and splashes off the flywheel. It had done this in the beginning so on a mechanics suggestion (because it was a new build and had stop and go traffic miles on it), I took it out on a 90 mile trip to see if the open road would help clear things up. It seem to work. Now its about a month later and it's worse than before. I have Dart angle plug heads running Royal Purple oil. I know I'm getting a little blow-by because it's hard to tighten these plugs all the way down with headers on an angle. Just to make sure 12 degrees initial/32 degrees overall, 10:1
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old Nov 10th, 05, 07:37 AM
Senior Tech

Re: BLEEDING at #7

did you forget to use sealer on a rocker arm stud?if not i am afraid it sounds like a valve guide.are there any signs on other plugs?how is the pcv connected?
E

86 camaro,383,topline vortecs,scat crank,wiseco forged 9.5:1,6"scat rods,comp xs282s,performer rpm,750 proform vac sec,msd in cap, hooker coated 1 5/8"headers,3"flowmaster,700r4,2800 stall,3.42 10 bolt posi,hotchkiss lca's,aje tube k member & a-arms
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old Nov 11th, 05, 08:14 AM Thread Starter

Re: BLEEDING at #7