What machine work should I have done to y block and heads? - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old Nov 12th, 05, 05:29 PM Thread Starter

What machine work should I have done to y block and heads?

Hey guys I am picking up a 454 with 781 heads tomorrow. But I need to decide what machine work I need. This is going to be kind of long, but I would rather ask now since i have never done it before than find out to late.

First of all what machine work should i have done to the block? I know I need it magnafluxed, hot tank, bored out. But I am wondering if I should use a torque plate when boring? Should I have it alined honed? Also someone told me that I should have the lifter bores cleaned up because that is a problem on big blocks. Is it worth the extra money for the aline hone and troque plate?
Is there anything else I should have done?

The heads are bare so I am going to have larger valves put in. But should i have them do a full port or do a gasket match and a little bowl work done? Or tell me what you think I should do.

I am looking to make 500-550HP. But might want a little more later so I don't know what I need done to the heads. I don't want to skimp, but don't want to spend more than I need to. This i sort of a budget build.

Any and all help is welcome.

thanks
Tom
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old Nov 12th, 05, 06:47 PM

Re: What machine work should I have done to y block and heads?

torque plate - Yes
alined honed - Have it checked if it needs it have it done
lifter bores - Definately check this if running a Flat Tappet cam Solid or Hyd. Roller cams solve this unless something is way out here.
Quote:
Is it worth the extra money for the aline hone and troque plate?