Need Engine Advice - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old Nov 19th, 05, 07:39 AM Thread Starter

Need Engine Advice

I am new to this sight and had a few questions. I recently purchased a 1991 camaro with a 305. I would like to put something bigger in the camaro. I am trying to find what engine would best suit this car with minimal headaches and a lot of HP. What do you suggest? Also, would it be wise to just get the 305 built up or say screw it, and go big? My concern is the TBI system and computer. Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old Nov 19th, 05, 11:34 AM
Senior Tech
Dave

Re: Need Engine Advice

I've been building assorted Chevy engines for over 30 years (as a hobby, not professionally) and I can tell you there are almost as many answers to your question as there are different hot rodders. Everyone has their own opinion and has to be willing to live with the consequences of their decisions. I've built engines with huge cams and lots of power, only to find they are not much fun to drive around with. I've also built some smaller engines and found I just wasn't satisfied.

It's kinda like the Goldilocks and the Three Bears story, where she sleeps around until she finds the bed that is just right. It almost always involves experimentation. If you get it right on the first shot, then consider yourself VERY lucky.

My only advice is to get rid of the 305. It's almost impossible to make good power with that engine, and by the time you spend the necessary money you could have built a solid 350 or 383 screamer. Maybe throw a little laughing gas or boost at it, and you got a seriously sick performer that will scare the Hell out of your passengers and get you lots of tickets.

Good luck.................

Dave F. in Rhode Island
'68 Camaro SS Accel DFI 454 (SOLD - I'm a boring Corvette owner now)
Bought my first big-block Chevy in 1970