dwell adjustment - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old Nov 22nd, 05, 08:27 AM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Dave

dwell adjustment

I'm a newbie when it comes to ignition stuff so I was talking with a friend of mine who is going to help me breath life into a motor that hasn't been started in 4 years.
I've got all the bolt on parts covered that I'll need, and I bought a new cap, rotor, coil & points as I figure they will be needed (the inspection cover is missing on the existing dist. cap)
In our conversation, he asked if I had a dwell meter. Not wanting to red flag my lack of engine knowledge, I just said "no", but I wanted to ask "WTH is a dwell meter?" but I didn't.
So, what's a dwell meter and how is it used?

68 Camaro Roller | 68 Camaro (#matching) | 69 Camaro
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old Nov 22nd, 05, 08:47 AM
Gold Lifetime Member
"Tri-Tip"

Re: dwell adjustment

It reads the point gap in degrees and they generally have other functions such as voltage readings. Basic equipment needed for tuning older point type ignition. Other tools needed are a vacuum gage and timing light. All of the functions by these tools can be done by "ear' and other means, but it is best to have them. Probably $125 total at Sears for all of these tools.

"Government is not reason; it is not eloquent; it is force. Like fire, it is a dangerous servant and a fearful master." ..... George Washington

Gary,TC Member with a Lemans Blue/Ivory 02D X33, DZ, M20, MS, flat hood. Only the BU code rear end is original.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old Nov 22nd, 05, 10:01 AM
Gold Lifetime Member
John

Thumbs up Re: dwell adjustment

Like 'Gary' says, a Dwell Meter reads the time the Points are Closed in Degrees of Distributor Rotation.

If you set the point gap at @0.018" at the peak of the distributor lobe then the Dwell will come in @30deg - if everything is good in the distributor.