Are splash shields on valve springs helpful? - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old Nov 23rd, 05, 11:11 PM Thread Starter
Gold Lifetime Member
Jeff

Are splash shields on valve springs helpful?

Im currently replacing the valve seals on my 69 Camaro. This is my first attempt at something like this, and searching through the old posts has given me a lot of great tips already.

The old valve seals (with only 1500 miles on them) are a hard white material like nylon. (Maybe teflon not sure.) While these might work well in some situations, Im pretty sure they are the cause of my oil-fouled spark plugs. With the intake manifold off, I can see a lot of oil buildup on the back of the intake valves inside the intake runners. The intake runners in the heads are dry, and I can't detect any "wobble" between the valve stems and the guides, so Im pretty sure that the valve seals are to blame here.

Im planning to use a set of Dana Clevite positive seals at the bottom of the stems. Theyre a fairly soft black rubber instead of a hard material, so Im hoping for better results from them. (The part number on the box is 216-1067 and I picked them up at a NAPA.)

I also discovered that my heads were reassembled without any O-ring seals the ones that belong in the second groove of the valve stems, up near the spring retainers. Im planning to add the O-rings, but maybe I should go one step further and add the splash shields (or hoods) that fit around the outside of the valve springs near the top. I think theyre made of thin stamped steel but Im not sure because Ive never seen one in person just in photographs.

My impression is that the splash shields are routinely left off during rebuilds. Is that because of the added weight, or because they are ineffective, or to avoid a situation where too little oil reaches the guides?